All Collections
The Contact Hub
Merge duplicate contacts in the Contact Hub
Merge duplicate contacts in the Contact Hub

Understand how you can merge duplicate contacts in your Contact Hub.

Russell Henderson avatar
Written by Russell Henderson
Updated over a week ago

If you have imported your clients to the Contact Hub from either an integration or your proposals, you may see some duplicates.


This could be due to client details being entered differently across different proposals (for example Ltd vs. Limited in the company name), or the same record existing twice in a platform you have imported your contacts from.

To clean up your database, you can merge your existing duplicates.

There are two ways you may decide to do this:

Merge Contacts in Bulk

👇 Choose this option if you have multiple contact records that have imported with the same client first and last name (for individuals) or organisation name (for organisations), and e-mail address.

From the Contacts page, select the three dots and then merge duplicate contacts.

You will see an explainer which you need to read through and confirm before selecting to merge.

What happens once I have clicked merge?

  • All contacts with the same name (company for organisations or first and last name for individuals) and e-mail address will be merged at once.

  • All proposals, relationships and notes that exist across duplicate records will be combined into one.

  • If there are any conflicts with the data, such as the address, we will retain the information from the most recently created contact.


Merge Individual Records

👇 Choose this option if you need to merge two individual records that do not contain the same first and last name (for individuals) or organisation name (for organisations) and e-mail address.

For example, client names or company names that have been entered differently (e.g. Limited vs Ltd).

From any contact record that needs to be merged, within the danger zone, select merge with another contact..

..type in the name of the other record you'd like to merge this existing one with..

..and then select the details of the record you'd like to keep.

Click confirm.

What happens once I have clicked merge?

  • The two contacts you have chosen to merge will be combined.

  • All proposals, relationships and notes that exist across duplicate records will be combined into the one record you chose.

If you have any questions, please contact us via the live chat support or at support@goproposal.sage.com.

Did this answer your question?